to torch a fake

A Porsche 911 from the 1970s burns out in an accident in Germany’s hilly Eifel region. Although the car is a complete write-off and destined for the scrap heap, a foreign dealer offers an unusually high price for the wreck … Motor journalist Sally Morgan is hot on the trail of an international criminal network that makes millions of euros out of classic car forgeries. In research efforts travelling throughout the whole of Europe, she and her friends get caught up in the deadly meshes of the Mafia.

The new genre: FUEL FICTION!

To date, there haven’t been any classic car crime novels. This was until I visited my friend Norbert Schroeder in his office at the Classic Remise in Düsseldorf. As the head of Classic Cars at TÜV Süd (a German vehicle inspection and testing organisation) and an expert of world renown, Norbert was mightily upset about a phone call he’d just had with a vehicle insurance company. My debut novel GLUTROT (TO TORCH A FAKE) was born from the backstory of that case as Norbert related it to me.
The new genre of Fuel Fiction has its first literary work.
(There will be more... I promise!)
Fuel Fiction is not made up of those classic petrol-head stories that are often told as jokey cock-and-bull stories. These are crime thrillers with high-octane fuel in their veins – fiction inspired by a true backstory. We have a story about love, life, and laughter – as well as about murder for the basest of motives. And every screw – at least in the classic cars themselves – sits where it should.
G.J.D.

 

[Translate to English:] Gerhard Johannes Dressen mit seinem Krimi Glutrot

Reader's Feedback
for the german edition GLUTROT

For me, Glutrot could have had 150 more pages. I'm looking forward to the next case of motor journalist Sally Morgan!

Iris Rohmann freelance journalist WDR

Wow, devoured within 2 days. Great first thriller from the newcomer author! The story is exciting, the language sophisticated. ... Very, very entertaining. I'm looking forward to the next part.

Louisa Schilling

Exciting novel, which illuminates the dark side of the oldtimer hype but nevertheless highlights the beauty of the hobby. Sympathetic and intelligent leading protagonists portrayed as human and well-described characters. Clear buy and - above all - reading recommendation. Congratulations on your first work - keep it up!

Amazon Customer

| Category: Latest 

[Translate to English:]

If you've read my debut novel GLUTROT (To Torch a Fake), then you're one of those readers who already knows what's what when it comes to classic car crime thrillers. And from now on you can show it, too — by adding a "FUELFICTION.com" sticker to your very own car.

» read more

| Category: Latest 

My cover designer Casandra Krammer has done me proud: my German crime thriller “GLUTROT” has transformed into “TO TORCH A FAKE” in its English translation. The adaptation of the German title is the brainchild of my English translator, James Cook. 

» read more

| Category: Latest 

Speeding on Mallorca? Here are the hottest routes for classic car fans on the island! We took them under our wheels during our research for the second Sally Morgan thriller.

» read more

| Category: Latest 

As a crime writer, you're constantly on the lookout for ways to make your protagonists die. Some of them are found by chance. Like this one: Beautiful murder with the stonecutter's pen and wedge.

» read more

Glutrot

Ein Porsche 911 aus den 1970er Jahren brennt bei einem Unfall in der Eifel aus. Obwohl der Wagen schrottreif ist, bietet ein ausländischer Händler ungewöhnlich viel Geld für das Wrack … Die Motorjournalistin Sally Morgan kommt einem internationalen Verbrecherring auf die Spur, der mit Oldtimer-Fälschungen Millionen macht. Während der Recherche in ganz Europa geraten sie und ihre Freunde ins tödliche Räderwerk der Mafia.

Amazon Twentysix Thalia

Das neue Genre: FUEL FICTION!

Oldtimer Krimis gab es bislang nicht. Bis ich meinen Freund Norbert Schroeder in seinem Büro in der Classic Remise besuchte. Er ist Leiter Classic Cars beim TÜV Süd und Gutachter von Weltruf – und war mächtig aufgebracht nach einem Telefonat mit einem Versicherer. Aus der Geschichte, die er mir erzählte, wurde der Roman Glutrot.
Das neue Genre Fuel Fiction hat damit sein erstes Werk.
(Weitere folgen. Versprochen!)
Fuel Fiction, das sind keine klassischen Benzingeschichten, die ja nicht selten zur lustigen Gattung Jägerlatein gehören. Es sind lesenswerte Krimis mit Blut im Benzin – erfundene Stories mit einem wahren Kern.
Es wird geliebt, gelebt, gelacht – und gemordet aus niederen Beweggründen. Und jede Schraube sitzt – zumindest bei den Classic Cars – am rechten Ort.
G.J.D.

Gerhard Johannes Dressen mit seinem Krimi Glutrot

Lesermeinungen

Für mich hätte Glutrot gern noch 150 Seiten mehr haben dürfen. Ich freue mich auf den nächsten Fall der Motorjournalistin Sally Morgan!

Iris Rohmann freie WDR Journalistin

Wow, innerhalb von 2 Tagen verschlungen. Toller erster Krimi vom Newcomer-Autor! Die Story ist spannend, die Sprache raffiniert. ... Sehr sehr kurzweilig. Ich freue mich schon auf den nächsten Teil.

Louisa Schilling

Spannender Roman, der die Schattenseiten des Oldtimerhypes beleuchtet aber trotzdem die Schönheiten des Hobbies herausstellt. Sympathische und intelligente Hauptdarstellerin, menschlich dargestellt, gut beschriebene Charaktere. Klare Kauf- und vor allem Leseempfehlung. Glückwunsch zum Erstwerk - weiter so!

Amazon Kunde

| Kategorie: In den Medien 

Das Online-Portal  "apotheke adhoc" ist unserer toxischen Kooperation auf die Schliche gekommen. Die investigativen Journalisten haben den toxischen Thinktank enthüllt. Zu spät, denn die eleganten Morde für den zweiten Sally-Morgan-Krimi sind bereits unter Dach und Fach.

» weiterlesen

| Kategorie: Aktuelles 

Benjamin Leuffen von der Mühlenbusch-Apotheke plant mit Gerhard Johannes Dreßen „elegante Morde“ für den zweiten Sally-Morgan-Oldtimerkrimi.

» weiterlesen

| Kategorie: In den Medien 

Die Zeitschrift "Modellflieger" hat in ihrer jüngsten Ausgabe GLUTROT vorgestellt.

» weiterlesen

| Kategorie: Aktuelles 

Wer meinen Debütroman GLUTROT gelesen hat, gehört zu den 'Wissenden' in Sachen Oldtimer-Krimi. Ab jetzt kannst du es auch zeigen – mit dem geplotteten, aus Einzelbuchstaben bestehenden Sticker "FUELFICTION.com" für dein 'Heiligs Blechle'.

» weiterlesen